stiletto rockstar

Pray. Smile. Be Inspired. Disney. Shoes.

Writing Challenge 

 

The greatest teacher in my life, well, teachers, are my parents. I will forever be their baby and their student. The countless arguing, laughing, therapy sessions, hugs, kisses, lunches, funny dinners, movie nights- they are the greatest teachers in my life. No actual teacher has come close as they have. I mean, I look at other individuals and think, where are their parents??? My mom and dad have guided me so much, until now, and although it has taken me years to understand that they are not “after me” but rather looking out for me. I hope one day to be as amazing as a parent to my own children as they are.

I think I have taught them to, with all the struggles and hardships I have been going through. As a parent, you do not want to see your own child in pain, no matter how emotional, physical, and how old they are. In the beginning, they didn’t know how to respond to my changed behavior. Eventually, they knew that they just had to listen and hug me, and tell me it is going to be okay. My mom keeps telling me to smile and that the world is not going to end, and that when I wake up the next day, the sun will be still shining for me. She (and my dad) continue to hold my hand.

Before, when I was a kid, I always felt like I was in a cage. They would coddle me! And I am realizing me it was not a cage, just a protective cape. I would not be the independent, diligent, considerate, and giving individual I am today if it were not for them. I remember when my friends in elementary were teasing a girl, I told my mom about it and she told me to never do that and always see good in others. I think that is the reason I am who I am today. I will never intentionally hurt another person and it irritates me when someone does it to me (I show you later…)

When girls say, “Oh my goodness! I am turning into my mother!” If I could be at least 1% like her when I have my own children, I will be grateful. My dad is always teaching me! He is constantly opening my eyes.

I love you, mama jan and babeum ❤

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_writing_challenge/student-teacher/

6 comments on “

  1. summerstommy2
    May 6, 2014

    Fabulous account of the great teachers in your life. Our parents are responsible for who we are. If we can emulate them in some way then we will be doing ok. I think you raise a great point about the role parents play in our lives. Well done.

  2. Pingback: It’s just scrambled egg | Mermaid's tresses

  3. Pingback: Lessons Given & Received | Mayur Wadhwani's Blog

  4. Pingback: Philosophy [A POEM] | Ramisa the Authoress

  5. Pingback: Unblogged | litadoolan

Leave a reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 5, 2014 by in Weekly Challenges.
Follow stiletto rockstar on WordPress.com
